Home
Market research, financial analysis and consulting on wireless technologies and services
 
The evolution in RAN optimization tools for small cells, C-RAN and IoT. A conversation with Said Mokbel, VP of Wireless Technology Development, Chief Technology Office, TELUS
Download the interview

The way mobile operators optimize the RAN and maximize RAN resource utilization is changing a mobile networks become more complex, and subscribers – as well as IoT devices – use them more intensively. In this conversation with Said Mokbel, VP of Wireless Technology Development, Chief Technology Office, TELUS in Canada, we talked how IoT traffic characteristics change the way mobile operators can optimize the use of the network infrastructure they have.

Said told us: “We have focused traditionally on broadband, and trying to squeeze more bandwidth in and have wider channels, but I don’t think we have paid attention as much to the number of connections we need to serve, many of which could be stationary, or semi-stationary. And many of which do not need to transmit in a uniform fashion, or in a two-way duplex fashion.”

As the complexity of the network increases, automation is no longer a nice-to-have feature, but a necessity, as Said pointed out: “We’ve been experimenting with them for years, and deploying them. The optimization of small cells uses good RF engineering, but it also requires a lot of automation.”

Read the full interview to find out more about Said Mokbel perspective on how RAN optimization is changing as small cells, C-RAN and IoT become part of mobile networks.
 



This interview is part of our upcoming report “The smart RAN. Trends in the optimization of spectrum and network resource utilization.”

We will discuss the report findings on a webinar, live on Thursday, November 12, 2015 11:00am PST, 1:00pm CST, 2:00pm EST, 7:00pm GMT, 8:00pm CET, or offline afterwards.


Register for the webinar
 
 
Bookmark and Share
 
 

| | | | |